SUBMARINE VAGIR - Indian navy to commission fifth Kalvari or scorpion class submarine Vagir

The Indian Navy will commission Vagir, the fifth Scorpene class submarine, on 23 January. It has been indigenously built under Project-75 of the Indian Navy.


Author - GsGkofficial Team Member 

Submarine INS VAGIR and Indian navy

The Indian Navy is set to commission the fifth Kalvari or Scorpion class submarine Vagir as per recent Navy official statements. Admiral R Hari Kumar, Chief of the Naval Staff, will be the chief guest of the function on this occasion. According to reports, the Indian Navy will commission Vagir, the fifth Scorpene-class submarine built under Project-75, on January 23. It will strengthen the Navy's combat capability at a time when China is increasing its presence in the Indian Ocean region. India is working towards enhancing its maritime capability with a focus on the Indian Ocean amid growing Chinese forays into the Indian Navy's backyard. According to the information, Project-75 involves indigenous construction of six submarines of Scorpene design.  These submarines are being built in India by Mazagon Dock Shipbuilders Limited (MDL) Mumbai in collaboration with M/s Naval Group, France. Four Kalvari or Scorpion class submarines have already been inducted into the Indian Navy.

History of INS Vagir

The erstwhile submarine Wazir was commissioned on 01 November 1973 and carried out a number of operational missions including preventive patrolling. The submarine was decommissioned on 07 Jan 2001 after serving the nation for almost three decades. However in its new avatar INS Wazir is the fifth submarine of the first batch of six Kalvari-class submarines for the Indian Navy. Such indigenous making was started on 12 November 20 under Project-75 of the Indian Navy.

About Project 75

1. Some important things about the Project 75 project

2. Project 75 India, approved in 2007, is part of the Indian Navy's 30-year plan for indigenous submarine construction.

3. This will be the first project under the strategic partnership model promulgated in 2017 to promote indigenous defense manufacturing.

4. The Project 75 project itself envisages indigenous construction of six conventional submarines equipped with state-of-the-art air-independent propulsion systems at an estimated cost of Rs 43,000 crore.

5. Under this Project 75 project, the Indian Navy also intends to acquire 6 diesel electric submarines, which will also have Advanced Air Independent Propulsion (AIP). The submarines built under this are called Kalvari's Scorpion class submarines.

6. The first submarine of the Kalvari or Scorpion series, INS Kalvari, was launched in October 2015.

7. The second, INS Khanderi, was launched for trials in January 2017 and commissioned in September 2019.

8. INS Vela is the fourth.

9. The fifth, INS Vagir, was launched in November 2020 and has commenced harbor trials.

10. The sixth submarine, INS Vagsheer, is in an advanced stage of preparation.


Frequently asked question about submarine power of Indian navy 
What type of submarine is INS Chakra?
INS Chakra (Chakra) is a nuclear submarine taken on lease from Russia. It is believed to be going back to its country of origin.
Which is India's first nuclear submarine?
Currently India has only one nuclear submarine INS Arihant.
Which submarine of the Indian Navy runs on nuclear power?
INS Arighat is also a nuclear powered ballistic missile submarine, which is to be commissioned soon.
How many classes have been made to the submarines of the Indian Navy?
The submarines of the Indian Navy are mainly made in four classes, which are the first Arihant class, the second Kalvari class, the third Sindhughosh class and the fourth Shishumar class.
When was the Arihant class submarine launched?
The submarine was commissioned in August 2016 and deployed for operations in 2018. However the first ship in this class was launched on 26 July 2009 and was INS Arihant (SSBN 80), later designated S2 Strategic Strike Nuclear Submarine.